Administration Login



Minor's League - History


Our Minor program was started by the Men's league way back in 1987. At the time, we only had 5 teams playing in the Major category, for kids aged 13 to 17. The program was started for a couple of reasons a to provide a place to play ball hockey for young players, and to provide a feeder system for the Men's league. Since that first year, we have added several levels of play, and we will have over 100 kids teams playing this season. This makes us the largest Minor ball hockey leagues in Canada. 

The Minor Ball  Hockey Association of Edmonton is a registered not-for-profit league, run by a volunteer board that is elected by members. Our league has always had a strong and dedicated volunteer Executive, and the tasks accomplished over the years set the bar very high for other leagues across Canada. The success of our league both on and off the floor is evident in the constant growth in all levels of play. Rick Aslin was the founder of the league, and he was our President for the first 2 years. Since then, Jeff Romaine has been the Minor League President. He has a great volunteer board who donate their time to make our league a great place to play for the kids.

Our league has played host to several major ball hockey championships over the years. We have hosted several (Western Challenge CupĂ· championships over the years, and in 2004 and 2009, Minor Ball Hockey Association of Edmonton were proud to host the Canadian Ball Hockey National Championships in our city. In addition, we have hosted the Alberta Minor Provinciials.    

We have had several current and former NHL'ers who played ball hockey in our Edmonton league. Whether it was the Ball Hockey Edmonton Men's League or the Minor Ball Hockey Association of Edmonton, several pro-hockey players have played our great game. The list of current and former NHL players who have played in our leagues includes:

Current Pro-Players
Tyler Ennis (Buffalo Sabres), Kyle Brodziak (Minnesota Wild), Mark Fistric (Anaheim Ducks),  
Jarred Spurgeon (Minnesota Wild) (Europe),  Fernando Pisani (in Europe)

Retired NHL'ers
Darryk Sydor, Blair Betts, Brian Benning, Ian Herbers,  Gary Valk